Watch an Asteroid Fly by Earth Right this moment in a Dwell Webcast from Slooh!

This weekend you may see dwell telescope views of an asteroid hurtling previous Earth, due to astronomy broadcaster Slooh.

An asteroid often known as 2000 QW7 is anticipated to go by Earth carefully, however safely, at 3.Three million miles (5.Three million kilometers) from Earth, or about 14 instances the typical distance between Earth and the moon. (NASA despatched out an announcement reassuring those who this occurs on a regular basis, and there is not any have to panic.) The asteroid’s closest method can be at 7:54 p.m. EDT (2354 GMT) on Saturday (Sept. 14).

You can begin watching the asteroid on-line within the hour earlier than it will get closest to Earth. Tune in to Slooh’s free dwell broadcast right here on Saturday at 7 p.m. EDT (2300 GMT) to look at Slooh astronomer Paul Cox and a number of other visitors clarify what dangers asteroids can pose to life on Earth. The printed may also embody dwell views of Comet C/2018 W2 (Africano), which is anticipated to be 2019’s brightest comet. 

You possibly can watch the webcast right here at Area.com, courtesy of Slooh. Viewers can ask questions on social media utilizing #AskSlooh. Memberships for in-depth entry to Slooh’s streaming companies begin at $20 per 12 months

This can be asteroid 2000 QW7’s first flyby of Earth since September 2000, when it was first recognized. It will not make one other method till 2038. This area rock is between 950 toes and a couple of,100 toes throughout (290 to 650 meters).

This asteroid is taken into account a part of NASA’s medium class of asteroids, which incorporates area rocks which might be no less than 460 toes (140 m) throughout. Whereas an asteroid of this measurement might trigger catastrophic native penalties if it hits the Earth, scientists know sufficient about this explicit asteroid’s orbit to reassure folks it’ll make a protected passage.

NASA (together with different area businesses and a community of companion telescopes) constantly tracks and identifies asteroids in case one does pose a risk to Earth, however to date scientists haven’t recognized any imminent points. The opposite asteroid coming by this weekend can be 2010 CO1, which comes by Earth pretty repeatedly in the meanwhile; it’ll make its closest method at 11:42 p.m. EDT tonight (0342 GMT on Sept. 14). 

Observe Elizabeth Howell on Twitter @howellspace. Observe us on Twitter @Spacedotcom and on Fb

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *