House Launch Calendar 2019: Sky Occasions, Missions & Extra

LAST UPDATED Sept. 3: These dates are topic to alter, and will likely be up to date all year long as firmer dates come up. Please DO NOT schedule journey based mostly on a date you see right here. Launch dates collected from NASA, ESA, RoscosmosSpaceflight Now and others.

Watch NASA webcasts and different dwell launch protection on our “Watch Dwell” web page, and see our night time sky webcasts right here. (You may also watch NASA TV dwell by way of nasa.gov or YouTube.) 

Discover out what’s up within the night time sky this month with our seen planets information and skywatching forecast. Spot the Worldwide House Station, Hubble House Telescope and different satellites within the sky above with this satellite tv for pc tracker

Questioning what occurred right this moment in area historical past, take a look at our On This Day in House video present right here!

September

Sept. 6: The unpiloted Soyuz MS-14 spacecraft will undock from the Worldwide House Station at 2:13 p.m. EDT (1813 GMT). [Watch Dwell]

Sept. 6: Conjunction of the moon and Jupiter. See the primary quarter moon move about 2 levels to the north of Jupiter within the night sky.

Sept. 6/7: India‘s Chandrayaan-2 mission will arrive on the moon. The Vikram lunar lander is anticipated to the touch down at about 1:30-2:30 a.m. India Normal Time on Sept. 7 (4:00-5:00 p.m. EDT on Sept. 6).  

Sept. 8: Conjunction of the moon and Saturn. The waxing gibbous moon will move lower than a level to the south of Saturn. Catch the pair collectively within the night sky. 

Sept. 10: Japan will launch the HTV-Eight cargo resupply mission to the Worldwide House Station. It would raise off from the Tanegashima House Middle on a Japanese H-2B rocket at 5:33 p.m. EDT (2133 GMT). [Watch Dwell]

Sept. 10: Neptune at opposition. That is the most effective time of 12 months to see Neptune — in case you have a very good telescope.

Sept. 14: Full Moon. The “Harvest Moon” will attain full part at 12:33 a.m. EDT (0433 GMT). 

Sept. 14: The Japanese HTV-Eight cargo spacecraft will arrive on the Worldwide House Station at 7:10 a.m. EDT (1110 GMT). [Watch Dwell]

Sept. 23: Equinox. At present is the primary day of autumn within the Northern Hemisphere and the primary day of spring within the Southern Hemisphere. 

Sept. 25: Three new Expedition 61 crewmembers will launch to the Worldwide House Station within the Soyuz MS-15 spacecraft: NASA astronaut Jessica Meir, Russian cosmonaut Oleg Skripochka, and Hazzaa Ali Almansoori of the United Arab Emirates. They are going to raise off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan on a Russian Soyuz rocket at 9:57 a.m. EDT (1257 GMT). [Watch Dwell]

Sept. 28: New moon.

Sept. 30: An Worldwide Launch Providers Proton rocket will launch the Eutelsat 5 West B communications satellite tv for pc and the primary Mission Extension Car for Northrop Grumman. It would raise off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

Additionally scheduled to launch in September (from Spaceflight Now): 

  • NASA goals to launch the Ionospheric Connection Explorer (ICON) mission after intensive delays attributable to issues with the Pegasus XL rocket.
  • An Arianespace Vega rocket will launch on the Small Spacecraft Mission Service (SSMS) proof-of-concept mission with a number of small satellites from Kourou, French Guiana. 

October

Oct. 1: Completely satisfied birthday, NASA! The company turns 61 years outdated right this moment. 

Oct. 2: In a Change of Command ceremony on the Worldwide House Station, Russian Cosmonaut Alexey Ovchinin will hand over command of the area station to European House Company astronaut Luca Parmitano. 

Oct. 3: NASA astronaut Nick Hague, Russian cosmonaut Alexey Ovchinin and Hazzaa Ali Almansoori of the United Arab Emirates will return to Earth from the Worldwide House Station. Undocking is scheduled for 3:35 a.m. EDT (0735 GMT), and the crew will land close to Dzhezkazgan, Kazakhstan at 6:58 a.m. EDT (1058 GMT). 

Oct. 3: Conjunction of the moon and Jupiter. See the waxing crescent moon move lower than 2 levels to the north of Jupiter within the night sky.

Oct. 5: Conjunction of the moon and Saturn. The waxing crescent moon will move lower than a level to the south of Saturn. Catch the pair collectively within the night sky.

Oct. 13: Full Moon. The “Hunter’s Moon” will attain full part at 5:08 p.m. EDT (2108 GMT). 

Oct. 21: Northrop Grumman will launch the Cygnus NG-12 cargo mission to the Worldwide House Station. It would raise off from Wallops Island, Virginia on an Antares rocket at 2:39 p.m. EDT (1839 GMT).

Oct. 21-22: The Orionid meteor bathe peaks. 

Oct. 27: New moon.

Oct. 28: Uranus at opposition. Now is a superb time to identify Uranus! 

Oct. 31: Conjunction of the moon and Jupiter. This Halloween, look as much as see the moon move about one diploma to the north of Jupiter within the night sky!

Additionally scheduled to launch in October (from Spaceflight Now): 

  • The Boeing CST-100 Starliner might launch on its first uncrewed mission, referred to as the Orbital Flight Check (OFT), to the Worldwide House Station. It would raise off from Cape Canaveral Air Drive Station in Florida on a United Launch Alliance Atlas V rocket.
  • India will launch the primary Cartosat 3-series Earth remark satellite tv for pc.
  • A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket is anticipated to launch the second batch of roughly 60 satellites for SpaceX’s Starlink constellation. 

November

Nov. 2: Moon occults Saturn. The moon will move in entrance of the ringed planet for skywatchers in New Zealand. In the meantime, skywatchers in different elements of the world will see the 2 our bodies make a detailed method, or a conjunction. 

Nov. 3: Daylight saving time ends. Set your clocks again an hour at 2 a.m. — and perhaps take pleasure in an additional hour of sleep!

Nov. 11-12: Mercury transits the solar. Skywatchers (sporting correct eye safety) can see the small planet Mercury move in entrance of the solar. 

Nov. 12: Full Moon. The “Beaver Moon” will attain full part at 8:34 a.m. EDT (1334 GMT). 

Nov. 17-18: The Leonid meteor bathe peaks. 

Nov. 20: A Russian Soyuz rocket will launch 32 satellites for OneWeb’s international satellite tv for pc web constellation. It would raise off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. 

Nov. 20: Russia will use a Proton rocket to launch the Elektro-L Three geostationary climate satellite tv for pc from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. 

Nov. 26: New moon.

Nov. 29: Conjunction of the moon and Saturn. The waxing crescent moon will move lower than a level to the south of Saturn. Catch the pair collectively within the night sky.

Additionally scheduled to launch in November (from Spaceflight Now): 

  • Boeing‘s CST-100 Starliner will launch on its first crewed check flight to the Worldwide House Station. 
  • Crew Dragon Demo 2: SpaceX’s Crew Dragon spacecraft is scheduled to take its first crewed check flight to the Worldwide House Station with NASA astronauts Doug Hurley and Bob Behnken on board. This would be the Crew Dragon’s first check flight with astronauts on board following the uncrewed Demo-1 mission in March. 
  • An Arianespace Vega rocket will launch the United Arab Emirates’ Falcon Eye 2 Earth remark satellite tv for pc from Kourou, French Guiana.
  • A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch the JCSAT 18/Kacific 1 communications satellite tv for pc from Cape Canaveral Air Drive Station in Florida. 
  • Virgin Orbit‘s LauncherOne rocket will launch 14 cubesats for the ELaNa-20 rideshare mission. A Boeing 747 named “Cosmic Lady” will air-launch the rocket over the Pacific Ocean after taking off from the Mojave Air and House Port in California.
  • An Arianespace Soyuz rocket will launch the primary COSMO-SkyMed Second Era (CSG 1) radar surveillance satellite tv for pc for the Italian area company. Flying as a secondary payload is the European House Company’s Characterizing Exoplanet Satellite tv for pc (CHEOPS). The mission will raise off from the Guiana House Middle in French Guiana.

December

Dec. 12: Full Moon. The “Chilly Moon” will attain full part at 12:12 a.m. EDT (0512 GMT). 

Dec. 13-14: The Geminid meteor bathe peaks. 

Dec. 20: A Russian Soyuz rocket will launch a Progress cargo supply spacecraft to the Worldwide House Station.

Dec. 21: Solstice. At present marks the start of winter within the Northern Hemisphere and the start of summer season within the Southern Hemisphere. 

Dec. 21-22: The Ursid meteor bathe peaks. 

Dec. 22: Conjunction of the moon and Mars. Watch the moon move about Three levels to the north of Mars within the daybreak sky. 

Dec. 25-26: An annular photo voltaic eclipse will likely be seen from the Arabian Peninsula to Indonesia. A partial photo voltaic eclipse will likely be seen throughout a lot of Asia, the Center East, Australia and western Africa. 

Dec. 28: Conjunction of the moon and Venus. See the slender crescent moon move inside 1 diploma of the “night star” tonight. 

Additionally scheduled to launch in December (from Spaceflight Now):

  • India’s Small Satellite tv for pc Launch Car (SSLV) will launch on its first orbital check flight. It would launch from the Satish Dhawan House Middle in Sriharikota, India.

Extra coming in 2019…

  • China will launch the Chang’e 5 mission to return samples from the moon. It will likely be the primary lunar pattern return mission tried since 1976. 
  • India‘s Small Satellite tv for pc Launch Car (SSLV) will launch on its first industrial mission with 4 Earth remark satellites for BlackSky International. It would raise off from the Satish Dhawan House Middle in Sriharikota, India.

Please ship any corrections, updates or steered calendar additions to hweitering@area.com. Observe House.com for the newest in area science and exploration information on Twitter @Spacedotcom and on Fb.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *